Unexpected praise

Today, I told a coworker that I was staying late to finish something, rather than having to stop at the school on the way to my day at the office tomorrow.  I explained that I could get up early and go out of my way, but I just didn’t want to have to.  She started laughing, and said, “I’m glad you said that – maybe you are human!  I was starting to wonder…”

I feel like I’m always so overwhelmed that it must be visible.  But apparently what people see is the side of me that never says no, and that just keeps pushing.  My coworker said that it seems like nothing bothers me, which was really a shock.  But it’s nice to know that regardless of what I feel, people are perceiving me as a hard worker.

In other news, I’m in the process of introducing the kids to the 3 Apples Book Award, and my display is getting a lot of traffic!  I sort of expected them to ignore it, but I got so many questions that I think next week’s lessons will be all about elections, voting and book awards.  I love these awards because there’s so much potential – once the nominees are announced, I can have the kids make videos campaigning for their favorite books (booktalks in disguise) and they have to read at least three of them to be eligible to vote in the first place!  I can continue to tie in to it throughout the year.

3 Apples Display

Leave a Reply

