First Day

Today was my first day of real work in my library.  There is a ton to be done, but the most pressing task is to find homes for all of the stuff that was emptied out of my former storeroom.  My desk is currently overrun with processing supplies, while the student computer stations were completely blocked off by boxes of magazines.  

I started by moving all the magazines I could find and sorting them by type – I discovered that the majority of them were older professional publications, many of which can probably be recycled once I confirm that they’re not in use.  I only found two titles intended for student use.  I’m questioning whether to try to rebuild a magazines collection.  I have a really nice display unit for magazines, and kids do seem to like them, but depending on how limited my budget is magazines may not make for the best use of funds.  What do you think?

I also spent some time learning the basic functions of our local catalog and unpacking a Follett order that the last librarian had placed.  There were some great new titles, and one of tomorrow’s tasks will be contacting the local rep to try to get my account set up with them so they can send me the MARC data.  

Day one reminded me a lot of my first practicum.  I kept a running list of all the things I need/want to do, and tackled what I could.  The high school librarian came over to help me in the morning, and he reminded me that I won’t get it all done in a day, or even in a year.  But I’m excited to get past the organizing and into the planning – I have some fun ideas for displays and touch tables that I would love to have ready for when the kids arrive!

In addition to working in the library, I’m doing some temp work in the office where I will ultimately work as a trainer one day per week.  That is very simple work, but very absorbing.  I came home with a headache and took a nap!  It’s nice to realize that my work hours will be essentially the same each day, and I’m beginning to think about how I can use that to facilitate some better habits.

Leave a Reply

